Bournemouth University

News and Events

Content only version

Bournemouth University announces Honorary Doctorates

3 November 2011

Graduation BU’s Honorary Doctorate list for the 2011 Annual Awards Ceremonies has been announced.

Each year Bournemouth University awards industry professionals Honorary Doctorates to recognise their outstanding achievements in their field of work and to recognise their connection to the local area or the University.

BU are proud to announce the following industry professionals who will be receiving Honorary Awards at graduation next week from the 8-11 of November.

On Tuesday, 8 November, Dr Brian Astin will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Education for his outstanding service to BU. Dr Astin joined BU as a Chemistry Lecturer in 1990. He quickly moved on to senior roles in the School of Applied Sciences becoming its Dean and eventually the University’s Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Education. BU's progressive and contemporary curriculum owes much to his leadership.

Also receiving an Honorary Doctorate of Laws on the afternoon of the same day will be Baroness Cox of Queensbury. A highly distinguished and award-winning human rights campaigner, Baroness Cox was the founding Chancellor of BU (1992-2001). Formerly a nurse and academic, she was created a peer in 1982 and served as Deputy Speaker in the House of Lords for 20 years.

In the same afternoon Roger Browning will also receive an Honorary Doctorate of Education. As Chief Executive of Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust since 1992, Roger has won numerous awards for high quality healthcare provision under his leadership. He has fostered close academic and professional collaborations with BU, culminating in the achievement of University Trust status in 2010.

John Kent will receive an Honorary Doctorate of Business Administration on the morning of Wednesday, 9 November. John is an internationally reputed entrepreneur and visionary leader in the tourism and leisure industries. He is CEO of, the founder of Aquis Hotels and Resorts, and was formerly UK Managing Director of Strongly committed to education, he promotes and supports cutting-edge research at BU's John Kent Institute in Tourism.

During the afternoon of the same day, Ian Livingstone OBE will receive his Honorary Doctorate of Arts. Ian is a pioneer of interactive entertainment and a visionary leader in the tourism and leisure industries. He is Life President of EIDOS Interactive, publishers of the Tomb Raider series of games. Ian is an influential champion of the UK video games industry and a strong supporter of BU's Media School and National Centre for Computer Animation.

On the morning of Thursday, 10 November, Clive Stafford Smith OBE will be receiving his Honorary Doctorate of Laws. Clive is a lawyer and defender of human rights who has worked for many years in the USA on behalf of prisoners facing the death penalty, and those detained at Guantanamo Bay and elsewhere. He has also played a leading role in exposing the use of torture and 'extraordinary rendition'. He is founder and UK Director of the international charity Reprieve.

In the afternoon, Alan Frost DL is receiving his Honorary Doctorate of Business Administration. Alan has made a large contribution to the life and development of Bournemouth University, particularly as Chairman of the University Board from 2004 to 2010. Alan has over 40 years of experience in the financial services sector, including ten years as managing director of Abbey Life Assurance and chief executive of United Assurance Group plc. Since 2010 he has been a Deputy Lieutenant of Dorset, and is currently the county's High Sheriff.

All graduation ceremonies are to be held at the Bournemouth International Centre.

Tuesday, 8 November - School of Applied Sciences and School of Health & Social Care
10.30am – Dr Brian Astin
2.30pm – Baroness Cox of Queensbury
2.30pm – Roger Browning

Wednesday, 9 November - School of Tourism and School of Design, Engineering & Computing
10.30am – John Kent
2.30pm – Ian Livingstone OBE

Thursday, 10 November - Student and Academic Services and The Business School
10.30am – Clive Stafford Smith OBE
2.30pm – Alan Frost DL

Return to News Archive page

Return to News Menu page